When you import files into OnSong through a storage service like Dropbox, Google Drive, iTunes File Sharing, or through the share activities menu in iOS, OnSong stores the original filename of that document with the song information in the OnSong library. If you import another file with the same filename, OnSong will detect that you are potentially importing an updated version of the file and prompt you with what to do with the file. Additionally, if you import aggregate files such as a ZIP archive, OnSong may proactively prompt you for what to do if the import process encounters filenames that match songs in the library. You can choose from one of the following options:
This option will replace the content of the existing song file with the content of the imported file, overwriting the content that is in your library. This is a destructive option in that it is not reversible and it could effectively erase existing songs if you are not managing files well. For instance, you may have an app that generates a generic file name such as "temp.txt". Importing this file multiple times and pressing "Update" will simply overwrite one song with another. In OnSong 2020.0, we've changed this option to appear in red text and prompt again about overwriting content.
This is the safest option if you're not sure about importing content. This will create a new song in the OnSong library every time even if the filename matches a song in your library.
This option does not make much sense when importing a single file, but if you are importing a batch of files, this means that new files that don't exist in the OnSong library should be imported, while potentially existing ones should be skipped.
This option will cancel the import operation altogether.